Skip to main content

BIOLH 1407: Hulett

Guide to resources for students in BIOLH 1407

Finding Biology Journal Articles

Recommended Databases

Most of these databases have options to limit your search results to full text and scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals. Be sure to check those options so you can limit results to journal articles you can read in full!

  • EDGE 
    The EDGE of Existence programme is the only global conservation initiative to focus specifically on threatened species that represent a significant amount of unique evolutionary history.
  • The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
      The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species.
    •  
  • Integrated Digitized Biocollections (iDigBio) 
    • National Resource for Advancing Digitization of Biodiversity Collections (ADBC) funded by the National Science Foundation. Through ADBC, data and images for millions of biological specimens are being made available in electronic format for the research community, government agencies, students, educators, and the general public.
    •  
    •  
  • National Center for Biotechnology Information 
    A national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information.
  • PLANTS Database 
    Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
  • Tree of Life 
    An Internet project containing information about organisms, their history, and characteristics. Information is shown as an evolutionary tree that connects all organisms to each other.

Government Resources

 Other Resources

  • Pew Center on Global Climate Change - Global warming basics
    The Pew Center on Global Climate Change is a nonprofit organization that advocates for more stringent restrictions on the use of fossil fuels. Includes an introduction to global warming, facts and figures, FAQs, fact sheets and science briefs, and a glossary of relevant terms.
  • Nova & Frontline on PBS - What's up with the weather?
    Nova and Frontline investigate the science and politics of global warming. Includes interviews with leading proponents and skeptics of global warming's threat, as well as the science of ice coring, models based on projected ice sheet melting, and ideas to combat global warming.
  • Union of Concerned Scientists - Global warming 101
    The Union of Concerned Scientists is a leading science-based nonprofit working for a healthy environment. Their website features information on the science of climate change as well as its impacts at both basic and in-depth levels.
  • Global Warming: Early Warning Signs
    An inter-organizational effort, this map of worldwide events helps to illustrate the global nature of climate change.
  • Carbon Footprint, Ltd. - Carbon footprint calculator
    A carbon footprint is a calculation of the carbon emissions each person is responsible for, either directly because of transportation and energy consumption or indirectly through the manufacture and eventual breakdown of products he or she uses. This interactive site also includes tips for reducing your carbon emissions.

Librarian Slideshow from Class

  The LSC-CyFair Library building is closed until further notice.

  Online References Services are available while we're closed.

hcpl lsc logos

Harris County Public Library

Lone Star College-CyFair Branch

9191 Barker Cypress Road

Cypress, TX 77433

281.290.3214 - Reference Desk, 1st floor

281.290.3219 - Reference Desk, 2nd floor

CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu

LoneStar.edu/library/cyfair.htm