Skip to main content

EDUC 1300: Rathi

This research guide is to help students in Prof. Rathi's EDUC 1300 with their career project.

Works Cited in MLA

You must include an citation for any information source you cite in your paper on your Works Cited list. 

The purpose of the Works Cited list is to give as much information as possible about the sources you used. This allows your reader to see where you're getting your information and to find the source again so they can read it for themselves.  

Every citation on your Works Cited list must correspond to at least one in-text citation somewhere in your paper.  

If you don't include Works Cited citations for information you use from your sources, you are at risk of plagiarism (passing off others' work as your own). Plagiarism has serious academic consequences. 

CREATING WORKS CITED LIST CITATIONS FOR CAREER SOURCES IN MLA

 
Sample citation for a page from the Occupational Outlook Handbook:

Format:

"Occupation Page Title." Occupational Outlook Handbook, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Department of Labor, United States, Date, URL.

 

Example:

 
Try watching our step-by-step video on how to cite an OOH page:
 
Sample citation for an occupation profile page from CareerOneStop:

Format:

"Occupation Profile: Career Title." CareerOneStop, State of Minnesota, URL. 

 

Example:

 
Try watching our step-by-step video on how to cite a CareerOneStop occupation profile page:

 

Citing a Page on a Website

Format

Author. "Title of Webpage." Title of Website, Date, URL. 

 

Example

undefined

 

Citing an Online News or Magazine Article

Format

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Website, Date, URL. 

 

Example:

undefined

 

Important things to notice about webpage citations:
  • A lot of webpages don't have a specific author listed. That's OK! Just skip the author and start the citation at "Title of Webpage."

  • A lot of webpages don't have dates. That's OK! Just skip the date and go right from Title of Website, to the URL.

  • When you copy and paste the URL into your webpage citations, take off the http:// or https:// at the beginning: MLA does not require it. 

  • Type a period at the end of your URL. 

  • MLA does not require access dates (the date you looked at the webpage) unless a source changes frequently (like a Wikipedia entry). Some professors may require accessed dates, too, so if you need to include one, just pop it at the very end of the citation and format it as Accessed Day Month. Year (example: Accessed 24 Apr. 2020). 

 
Citing a Printed Book

Format

Author. Title of Book. Publisher, Year. 

 

Example:

undefined

 

Citing an Electronic Book from the Open Web 

Format

Author. Title of Book. E-book, Publisher, Year. Website, URL.  

 

Example:

undefined

 

Citing an Electronic Book from a Library Database 

Format

Author. Title of Book. E-book, Publisher, Year. Database Name, permalink.  

 

Example:

undefined

 
Try watching our step-by-step video on how to cite an eBook from the EBSCO eBook Collection database:

 

Important things to notice about book reading citations:
  • If your book has two authors, write them both out. Only reverse the order of the first author's names and include a comma after:

Kendi, Ibram X., and Jason Reynolds. 

  • If your book has three or more authors, only write the first author's name and then type a comma and the "et al." abbreviation:

Doe, Jane, et al. 

  • If your book has an edition number, put that after the book title and before the publisher. If your textbook doesn't have an edition number, just skip that part of the citation. Example:

Danielewski, Mark. House of Leaves. 2nd ed., Pantheon, 2000. 

  • If your book has more than one publisher listed, use the first publisher's name on the title page as the publisher. 

  • If your book has more than one copyright year on the back of the title page, use the most recent year as the date.

 

Most databases will format citations in MLA for you, but you always need to double check them!

Format

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Publication, vol. #, no. #, Date, pp. ## - ##. Database Name, DOI or Permalink. 

 

Example:

undefined

 

Important things to notice about database citations:
  • Databases do a good job of putting the right citation elements in the right order, but they do not do a good job on formatting: always double-check and edit database citations so they follow MLA formatting rules of Times New Roman font, 12 pt size, double spacing, and hanging indents. 

  • Citations from a database include the database name. If you are using an EBSCO database, the automatic citation will put in EBSCOhost as the database name: change that to the specific EBSCO database you used (like Academic Search Complete, Literary Reference Center, etc.)

  • Citations from a database will end in either a DOI (digital object identifier) or a URL. Remove the http:// from in frontof a DOI or URL if the database includes it.  

  • Scroll down or visit the Citing Database Sources in MLA page in this guide for examples on correcting MLA citations from different library databases. 

 

Try watching our step-by-step videos about citing sources from an EBSCO database and from the Credo Reference database:

 

 

 

If you need to create an MLA citation for a source type you don't see here, try one of these resources:

  The LSC-CyFair Library building is closed until further notice.

  Online References Services are available while we're closed.

hcpl lsc logos

Harris County Public Library

Lone Star College-CyFair Branch

9191 Barker Cypress Road

Cypress, TX 77433

281.290.3214 - Reference Desk, 1st floor

281.290.3219 - Reference Desk, 2nd floor

CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu

LoneStar.edu/library/cyfair.htm