Skip to main content

ENGL 1301 Toulmin Argument: Finding scholarly and popular sources in library databases

Recommended databases and strategies for finding both scholarly and popular sources

Finding Scholarly and Popular Sources in Library Databases

 

This video describes how to find the databases from the Lone Star College homepage and how to log in to them. 

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete is our biggest, most comprehensive database. It's a great place to start looking for more detailed information about your topic, after you've already found some background information.

You'll find scholarly and popular sources in Academic Search Complete

You can use the Source Type menu to limit your search results to either type (see video 5 in our ASC playlist for help) or look at the icons next to each search result.  

  • Scholarly sources will have an Academic Journal icon:

undefined

  • Popular sources will have either a Periodicals icon (for magazines or trade publications) or a News icon (for newspaper articles):

undefined     undefined

  • You may also see some results with a Review icon. Reviews may come from scholarly or popular publications, but they're not the most helpful research sources (they typically review new books on a topic - librarians use them to buy books for the library). Try not to use sources with the Review icon

undefined

Before you search Academic Search Complete, take a look at our YouTube playlist on using the database. It breaks down most aspects of the database, from how to type in your search terms to limiting searches to scholarly sources to using auto-generated MLA citations.  

 

Other recommended databases:

For any EBSCO based databases, you can search more than one at once, using the instructions given by Librarian Jane Stimpson, in the second YouTube video.

 

  The LSC-CyFair Library building is closed until further notice.

  Online References Services are available while we're closed.

hcpl lsc logos

Harris County Public Library

Lone Star College-CyFair Branch

9191 Barker Cypress Road

Cypress, TX 77433

281.290.3214 - Reference Desk, 1st floor

281.290.3219 - Reference Desk, 2nd floor

CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu

LoneStar.edu/library/cyfair.htm