We have general databases with information on many different subjects (like Academic Search Complete) and subject databases that focus on more specific topics (like Health Reference Center).
Databases are arranged by subject, so on the database page, scroll down and open the Current Issues section to find the databases best suited to the type of research you’re doing in this class.
Which specific databases should you use for your research? That depends somewhat on your topic. For recommendations, contact Tracy the Librarian at Tracy.Williams@LoneStar.edu.
For off-campus access to the library databases, you will need to enter either your 14-digit library barcode or sign in with your MyLonestar email address and password. Once you have clicked on the link to a library database, you will be prompted to log in.
The library databases in this list are helpful for finding topic overviews - general introductions with background information about a topic. Topic overviews can help give you perspective on the history of the issue and generate keywords and subtopics.
Scholarly journal articles usually provide more details about a topic. Journal articles are written by experts or specialists in a field and may report the findings of new studies on a topic.
Newspaper and magazine articles can be useful for finding the most up-to-date information about a topic or event. The library databases in this list are helpful for finding both current and historical newspaper and magazine articles.
The database searches for articles with the words/phrase "nursing infants" or "infants nursing" - it's searching for both words next to each other.
The database searches for articles that have both words, "nursing" AND "infants" - anywhere in the article
Harris County Public Library
Lone Star College-CyFair Branch
9191 Barker Cypress Road
Cypress, TX 77433
281.290.3210 - Circulation/Curbside Holds
281.290.3211 - Children's Reference
281.290.3214 - Adult & Teen Reference
832.463.0478 - Online Reference
832.390.1729 - Curbside Printing
Schedule a video/phone meeting with a Librarian.