Skip to Main Content

  LSC-CyFair Library (building #3) is open with limited capacity and services.

MLA Citation Help

View examples, get interactive practice, and format your paper with MLA Style citation!

DATABASE CITATIONS

Most online library databases will format MLA citations for you, but you always need to double-check them. 

Databases do a great job at plugging in the right citation information in the right order, but they don't do well at: 

  1. Formatting: always correct database citations to make sure they're in proper MLA format: Times New Roman, 12 pt font, hanging indent, double spacing. 

  2. Capitalization: always double-check capitalization: sometimes the databases can't figure out if something is in all caps or if an article or journal title is capitalized correctly. Make sure nothing is in all caps and article and publication titles use headline capitalization. 

  3. Proofreading: we can't guarantee database citations will always be correct. Sometimes if the article author field includes the author's email address, the database will put that in the auto-citation. 

Bottom line: always double-check database citations!

Format:

Author. "Title of Article." Title of Publication, vol. #, no. #, Date, pp. ## - ##. Database Name, DOI or Permalink. 

 

Example:

undefined

CITE A JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM EBSCO in MLA

Resources to help you cite a journal article from an EBSCO database:

CITE AN EBOOK FROM EBSCO IN MLA

Resources to help you cite an ebook from an EBSCO database:

CITE CREDO REFERENCE IN MLA

Resources to help you cite something from the Credo Reference database:

  LSC-CyFair Library (building #3) is open with limited capacity and services.