Skip to main content

ENGL 1302: Wardlaw

This guide was created to help students in Prof. Wardlaw's ENGL 1302 courses with research assignments.

Link to LSC-CyFair Research Databases

Recommended databases

Database search tips

Use individual, descriptive keywords instead of lots of terms together. A Basic Search with all your terms grouped as a phrase might not work so well. This search only got 17 results:

 

           

         

So try an Advanced Search and enter one keyword or phrase per line. You should see a big difference in the number of results:

 

 

 

Most databases have options to limit search results to full text. Be sure to check that option to limit results to articles you can read in full.

 

Without limiters checked, we have 156 results. After checking Full Text, we go down to 100 results. Fewer to sort through, and we can read every result in full:

 

 

Take the time to read abstracts of the articles to see what they're about before you commit to reading the entire article. Mouse over a magnifying glass or click on the title to read the abstract. 

 

 

 

When you find articles that look relevant to your topic, use the tools in the database to work with the articles: email them to yourself, download or print them, and grab the automatic citation in APA. It will save you time in the long run!

 

  The LSC-CyFair Library building is closed until further notice.

  Online References Services are available while we're closed.

hcpl lsc logos

Harris County Public Library

Lone Star College-CyFair Branch

9191 Barker Cypress Road

Cypress, TX 77433

281.290.3214 - Reference Desk, 1st floor

281.290.3219 - Reference Desk, 2nd floor

CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu

LoneStar.edu/library/cyfair.htm