Skip to main content

RECOMMENDED READS - KIDS

Reader's Advisory

undefined

We have lots of great books! Browse the lists on this site, request a Book Bundle, or search the catalog for more. 

This site is under construction, so be sure to check back regularly for more!


 LSC-CyFair is open only for Curbside Pickup at this time.

HCPL is now offering curbside service at multiple locations. Click here for info on how to arrange curbside book pickup.

Rather stay home? Click here to sign up for an iKnow card to access online resources!

Read January Birthday Authors

Freddy the Detective

Freddy the pig, stimulated by reading Sherlock Holmes, sets up in a business as a detective.

A Bear Called Paddington

The classic novel about Paddington--who's now a major movie star! Paddington Bear had traveled all the way from Peru when the Browns first met him in Paddington Station. Since then, their lives have never been quite the same . . . for ordinary things become extraordinary when a bear called Paddington is involved. First published in 1958, A Bear Called Paddington is the first novel by Michael Bond, chronicling the adventures of this lovable bear. Paddington has charmed readers for generations with his earnest good intentions and humorous misadventures. This brand-new edition of the classic novel contains the original text by Michael Bond and illustrations by Peggy Fortnum.

I Stink!

Now a streaming animated series! For fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Steam Train, Dream Train comes a noisy addition to the hilarious read-aloud series from Kate and Jim McMullan, the popular creators of I'm Bad! and I'm Dirty! "Know what I do at night while you're asleep? Eat your trash, that's what!" With ten wide tires, one really big appetite, and an even bigger smell, this garbage truck's got it all. His job? Eating your garbage and loving every stinky second of it! And you thought nighttime was just for sleeping.

Winnie-The-Pooh

Happy 90th birthday, to one of the world's most beloved icons of children's literature, Winnie-the-Pooh!   Since 1926, Winnie-the-Pooh and his friends--Piglet, Owl, Tigger, and the ever doleful Eeyore--have endured as the unforgettable creations of A.A. Milne, who wrote this book for his son, Christopher Robin, and Ernest H. Shepard, who lovingly gave Pooh and his companions shape.  These characters and their stories are timeless treasures of childhood that continue to speak to all of us with the kind of freshness and heart that distinguishes true storytelling. "Winnie-the-Pooh is a joy; full of solemn idiocies and the sort of jokes one weeps over helplessly, not even knowing why they are so funny, and with it all the real wit and tenderness which alone could create a priceless little masterpiece." Saturday Review, 1926

Parts

I just don't know what's going onOr why it has to beBut every day it's something worseWhat's happening to me?So begins this uproarious new story from the best-selling creator of No Jumping on the Bed!,Green Wilma, and other popular books. The young narrator has discovered a disturbing trend: There's fuzz in his belly button his toes are peeling and something just fell out of his nose. The last straw is a loose tooth, which convinces him of the awful truth his parts are coming unglued!Parts deals with a subject of deepest interest to every young child: the stuff our bodies shed. Parents will appreciate the reassuring message that it's all quite normal, while Tedd Arnold's comical illustrations and rhyming text are guaranteed to make young readers laugh their heads off.

Angelina Ballerina

In an encore performance, Angelina Ballerina returns in this refreshed picture book from acclaimed author Katharine Holabird and celebrated artist Helen Craig! Angelina is a pretty little mouse who wants nothing more than to be a ballerina. She dances all the time--at home, at school, even in her dreams! In fact, she's so busy dancing that she forgets all about the other things she's supposed to do, like cleaning her room and joining her family for breakfast! Her parents don't know what to do--especially after her arabesques in the kitchen knock over the milk! Then one day they come up with an idea that will change Angelina's life forever... With Katharine Holabird's lively writing and Helen Craig's charming illustrations, the original story, now refreshed and re-released, will continue keeping a whole new generation of young ballerinas leaping with delight.

Alice in Wonderland

This perennially popular Norton Critical Edition again reprints the 1897 editions of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass along with the 1876 edition of The Hunting of the Snark. Each text is fully annotated and the original illustrations are included.An unusually rich "Backgrounds" section is arranged to correspond with three clearly defined periods in Lewis Carroll's life. Letters and diary entries interwoven within each period emphasize the biographical dimension of Carroll's writing. Readers gain an understanding of the author's family and education, the evolution of the Alice books, and Carroll's later years through his own words and through important scholarly work on his faith life and his relationships with women and with Alice Hargreaves and her family.Reflecting the wealth of new scholarship on Alice in Wonderland and Lewis Carroll published since the last edition, Donald Gray has chosen eleven new critical works while retaining five seminal works from the previous edition. Two early pieces--an essay by Charles Dickens and poem by Christina Rossetti--take a satirical look at children's literature. The nine new recent essays are by James R. Kincaid, Marah Gubar, Robert M. Polemus, Jean-Jacques Lecercle, Gilles Deleuze, Roger Taylor, Carol Mavor, Jean Gattégno, and Helena M. Pycior.The Selected Bibliography has been updated and expanded.

A Chair for My Mother 25th Anniversary Edition

This classic and award-winning picture book was written and illustrated by the celebrated Vera B. Williams and was named a Caldecott Honor Book by the American Library Association. This picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It's a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children. "A tender knockout . . . it's rare to find much vitality, spontaneity, and depth of feeling in such a simple, young book."--Kirkus Reviews After their home is destroyed by a fire, Rosa, her mother, and grandmother save their coins to buy a really comfortable chair for all to enjoy. A Chair for My Mother has sold more than a million copies and is an ideal choice for reading and sharing at home and in the classroom. "A superbly conceived picture book expressing the joyful spirit of a loving family."--The Horn Book

Bunny Cakes

It's Grandma's birthday, and Max wants to make her an icky, worm-infested cake. But Ruby says, "No, Max. We are going to make Grandma an angel surprise cake, with raspberry-fluff icing." Will Max let his bossy older sister keep him out of the kitchen? Or will they both become bunnies who bake?

The Book of Three

The Newbery-winning fantasy series now available in gorgeous new paperback editions! SinceThe Book of Three was first published in 1964, young readers have been enthralled by the adventures of Taran the Assistant Pig-Keeper and his quest to become a hero. Taran is joined by an engaging cast of characters that includes Eilonwy, the strong-willed and sharp-tongued princess; Fflewddur Fflam, the hyperbole-prone bard; the ever-faithful Gurgi; and the curmudgeonly Doli--all of whom have become involved in an epic struggle between good and evil that shapes the fate of the legendary land of Prydain. Released over a period of five years, Lloyd Alexander's beautifully written tales not only captured children's imaginations but also garnered the highest critical praise. The Black Cauldron was a Newbery Honor Book, and the final volume in the chronicles,The High King, crowned the series by winning the Newbery Medal for "the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." Henry Holt is proud to present this classic series in a new, redesigned paperback format. The jackets feature stunning art by acclaimed fantasy artist David Wyatt, giving the books a fresh look for today's generation of young fantasy lovers. The companion book of short stories,The Foundling is also available in paperback at this time. In their more than thirty years in print, the Chronicles of Prydain have become the standard of excellence in fantasy literature for children. This title has Common Core connections.

Everything on a Waffle

Primrose Squarp simply knows her parents did not perish at sea during a terrible storm, but try convincing the other residents of Coal Harbour on that score. For all practical purposes, at least for the time being, Primrose is an orphan, and there's no great clamoring of prospective adopters. After realizing the impracticality of continuing to pay Miss Perfidy (a mothball-scented elderly lady) an hourly wage to baby-sit her, the town council is able to locate a relative, Uncle Jack, who reluctantly takes Primrose into his care. Primrose does warm up to living with him and in his home, despite the eerie noises resembling a hockey game that haunt her in the night. But true sanctuary can always be found at a restaurant called The Girl in the Swing, where everything--including lasagna--is served on a waffle, and where the proprietor, Miss Bowzer, offers a willing ear, as well as sage advice. Through a mixture of eccentric humor and probing philosophy, author Polly Horvath makes Primrose's search for peace and understanding a most memorable one. Everything on a Waffle is a 2001 Boston Globe - Horn Book Award Honor Book for Fiction and Poetry and a 2002 Newbery Honor Book.

Anansi the Spider

Anansi the Spider is one of the great folk heroes of the world. He is a rogue, a mischief-maker, and a wise, lovable creature who triumphs over larger foes. In this traditional Ashanti tale, Anansi sets out on a long, difficult journey. Threatened by Fish and Falcon, he is saved from terrible fates by his sons. But which of his sons should Anansi reward? Calling upon Nyame, the God of All Things, Anansi solves his predicament in a touching and highly resourceful fashion.

Read January Birthday Authors

CURBSIDE PICKUP HOURS*

Curbside Pickup Hours
(excluding holidays)
  • Mon-Thu: 10am–6pm
  • Fri-Sat: 10am–5pm
  • Sun: Offline/Closed
*Library Building Closed

HOLIDAY HOURS

Contact Us

  • Call
    Circulation Desk
    281.290.3210 - Curbside Holds Pickup
    281-290-3211 - Children's Reference
    281-290-3214 - Adult & Teen Reference
  • Text
    832.463.0478 - Online Reference
    832.390.1729 - Curbside Printing
  • Email
    CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu
  • Time Chat Online:
    cyflib.info/chat
  • One-to-One Consultation
    Schedule a video/phone meeting with a Librarian.

  The LSC-CyFair Library building is closed until further notice.

  Online References Services are available while we're closed.

hcpl lsc logos

Harris County Public Library

Lone Star College-CyFair Branch

9191 Barker Cypress Road

Cypress, TX 77433

281.290.3214 - Reference Desk, 1st floor

281.290.3219 - Reference Desk, 2nd floor

CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu

LoneStar.edu/library/cyfair.htm