Skip to Main Content

Newbery Award

The John Newbery Medal 

"The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year." -

To find these titles in the library, click on the books below and on the following pages to check the catalog for availability. Only the titles currently available through the library are listed on this site.

There is one medal winner each year and a varying number of honor titles. For more on the history and selection of the Newbery Award, please visit

To search for more titles, please click HERE to visit the ALA Book & Media Awards Shelf.

Last updated 4/5/2021

Newbery Award Winners