Databases/Journal Articles
We have general databases with information on many different subjects (like Academic Search Complete) and subject databases that focus on more specific topics (like Health Reference Center).
Databases are arranged by subject on the database page.
Which specific databases should you use for your research? That depends somewhat on your topic. For recommendations, contact Liz the Librarian at Elizabeth.d.nebeker@LoneStar.edu.
For off-campus access to the library databases, you will need to enter either your 14-digit library barcode or sign in with your MyLonestar email address and password. Once you have clicked on the link to a library database, you will be prompted to log in.
The library databases in this list are helpful for finding topic overviews - general introductions with background information about a topic. Topic overviews can help give you perspective on the history of the issue and generate keywords and subtopics.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
(CQ Press) Full-text, balanced, comprehensive journalistic reports and analysis of current and controversial issues of the day.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
(Credo) Includes materials from over 650 full-text reference books on a variety of topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
- Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
(Facts on File) Full-text articles from different points of view on important issues in today's news, plus statistics and images
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Content includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
Scholarly journal articles usually provide more details about a topic. Journal articles are written by experts or specialists in a field and may report the findings of new studies on a topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) A scholarly multi-disciplinary database that provides full text, indexing, and abstracts, videos and images from journals, magazines and newspapers. Full text of articles from 6500+ journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(Ithaka Harbors) Includes full-text back issues of selected peer-reviewed journals in such areas as history, statistics, sociology, literature, and economics.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
(Johns Hopkins University Press) Full-text articles from "over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals."
Newspaper and magazine articles can be useful for finding the most up-to-date information about a topic or event. The library databases in this list are helpful for finding both current and historical newspaper and magazine articles.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Selected full-text from 30 US national and international newspapers and 200 regional papers, plus TV & radio news transcripts.
- Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Over 30 million digital pages of seventeen American newspapers dating back to the 18th century.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Full text from the Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, and the New York Times.
- MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Offers the highest quality collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area. Helping patrons find relevant content has never been easier. (High school/pre-college).
Searching the Databases
Boolean Operators
Basic Search vs. Advanced Search
Basic Search
You must manually enter any boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
EXAMPLE #1
The database searches for articles with the words/phrase "nursing infants" or "infants nursing" - it's searching for both words next to each other.
EXAMPLE #2
The database searches for articles that have both words, "nursing" AND "infants" - anywhere in the article
Advanced Search
The database automatically provides the boolean operators (AND is the default).
EXAMPLE #3
EXAMPLE #4
