LSC-CyFair Library Guides: Careers & Jobs Sources: WEBSITES

Selected Websites

CareerOneStop
Highlights wages, skills/abilities/tasks, and employment trends by state.
O*NET OnLine
Learn job characteristics and skills for a variety of careers.
My Next Move
Discover the career that matches your interests and skills.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Full-text career information including earnings, working conditions, job prospects, and training from the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Lone Star College: CareerStar is Lone Star College's job placement website for our students and alumni which is specifically focused on Lone Star College's degree programs. Contact the Career Services Office for access to CareerStar at CF-CareerServices@lonestar.edu or 281.290.3260.
Harris County: Human Resources & Risk Management-Employment from Harris County Government provides application information and job openings
Houston: City of Houston Careers - find specific openings and application information for city jobs including technical, professional, and protective services
Houston: Houston Jobs from Jobing.com, LLC, a job network company specializing in local job listings in various cities - provides listings of Houston-area positions
Texas: WorkInTexas.com from the Texas Workforce Commission - view jobs available in Texas state government and you can apply online
United States: Monster.com from Monster Worldwide, Inc., an advertising, marketing, and recruitment company - offers jobs listings and resume posting

Career Center-Career Fields from the University of California, Berkeley - highlights many different fields of study and provides a one-stop shop for career information from various sources
Major & Career Search from The College Board allows you to research specific areas of interest related to a field of study or job.
Peterson's College Search - search for majors at various colleges
Princeton Review Career Search from Princeton Review, a test preparation company - review different job fields and their requirements
Glassdoor - free web
Offers an inside look at thousands of companies. Salary information, reviews, and interview questions.

Behavioral Job Interviewing Strategies for Job Seekers from Katharine Hansen, who earned a Ph.D. in organizational behavior from Union Institute & University in Cincinnati, Ohio and co-written several job search books - includes question examples and tips for handling this type of interview.
Cost of Living Calculator from CNN and ACCRA, Inc. - provides an interactive tool to determine if moving to another area requires a larger salary.
Cover Letter Tips and Cover Letter Examples by Industry from Monster Worldwide, Inc., a career services company - includes suggestions on how to promote your skills in this document to serve as a preview to your resume.
Illegal Questions from the University of Washington Statistics Department - lists examples of questions employers cannot ask
Resume Guide from America's CareerOneStop sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor - provides excellent tips for developing and distributing resumes & cover letters.
Resume Writing from GCFLearnFree.org sponsored by Goodwill Community Foundation® and Goodwill Industries of Eastern NC Inc.® - offers a step-by-step method for what to include in a successful resume.
7 Questions to Answer Before Accepting a Job Offer from U.S. News and World Report - features points to consider before taking a new job.