LSC-CyFair Library Guides: GOVTH 2305 Jinu Abraham: Library Resources

Honors GOVT 2305

Rose Botkin's office hours are 10AM - 12PM on Tuesdays and 12PM - 2PM on Wednesdays in LRNC 143. Appointments outside of these hours can be made upon request.

Assignment Description

The paper will examine what America can learn from the rest of the world in terms of public policy in five areas: maternity leave/child care, incarceration/recidivism, test scores in primary school, seeking alternative sources of energy, or the rise of NEETs (No Education/Employment/Training) . The research paper will be broken up into multiple pieces as students will help each formulate topics, select countries to compare with the United States, and the final editing stages of the assignment.

Federal Government Writing Workshop

Federal Government Writing Workshop

Writing and Proof Reading Resources

Lone Star CyFair Writing Center
Through Lone Star, you can have your paper checked for grammatical errors, spelling, get advice about writing style and thesis construction for free.

Types of Sources You May Want to Use

Database Articles
Government Websites
Books
Journal Articles
Educational Films
Interviews
News Articles

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) A scholarly multi-disciplinary database that provides full text, indexing, and abstracts, videos and images from journals, magazines and newspapers. Full text of articles from 6500+ journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(Ithaka Harbors) Includes full-text back issues of selected peer-reviewed journals in such areas as history, statistics, sociology, literature, and economics.
TOPICsearch This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Current events database: over 100,000 articles from diverse sources & points of view, on important social/political/economic issues.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Content includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

Topic 1: Parental Leave-- Helpful Internet Resources

Topic 2: Recidivism--Helpful Internet Resources

Topic 3: Test Scores-- Helpful Internet Resources

ERIC This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Full text of more than 2,200 digests along selected articles and abstracts from 1,000+ education-related journals. Note: Access also available through ERIC.ed.gov- free web. Summaries and/or full-text of education-related reports are accessible.

Topic 4: Alternative Energy--Helpful Internet Resources

Topic 5: NEETs --Helpful Internet Resources

OECD--International Data
Contains data pertaining to NEETs internationally.
Bureau of Labor Statistics-Economic News
Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development--U.S.

GOVTH 2305 Jinu Abraham

EXPLORE