News

(EBSCO) Selected full-text from 30 US national and international newspapers and 200 regional papers, plus TV & radio news transcripts.

Via LSC: 
(ProQuest) Provides business news and information on financial markets worldwide.  Comprehensive coverage from 1984 to present.

Via HCPL:
Access to the most recent 90 days of Wall Street Journal (WSJ) articles. Advanced search gives you access to articles from the last 4 years.

When accessing WSJ from home, create a free account which gives you a 3 day pass. After the pass expires, start again from the link on the HCPL website and log back in with the same account details you created earlier for another 3 days worth of access.

The Wall Street Journal app is not included with the library subscription, but the site is mobile responsive so it displays well on tablets and smartphones.

(EBSCO) A scholarly multi-disciplinary database that provides full text, indexing, and abstracts, videos and images from journals, magazines and newspapers. Full text of articles from 6500+ journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.

(Alexander Street Press) Full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports.

(EBSCO) The Image Collection database consists of more than 1 million total images in these categories, broken down as follows: Photographs; Images from Canadian Press, Getty Images, and UPI; Maps from Antenna Audio; and Photographs from public domain sources.The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.

(Films Media Group) High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Browse a selection of Business & Economics videos.

(Hearst) Full-text from 1985-present of the local newspaper, including web edition stories.

(Newsbank) Here you'll find Houston Chronicle articles from 10/29/1985 to the present. Digital image edition available from 10/24/2017 to present.

To read the digital image edition click the listing on the menu with "image" as the format. Click on "All Databases" to see other available collections from Newsbank: Houston Community Weeklies, Texas Newspaper collection, America's News, Special Reports & Hot Topics from around the nation. 

What's available: Houston Chronicle, Weekly community publications, Texas Newspaper Collection, America's News

(Kanopy) Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection. App available from Apple, Google, and Roku.

(EBSCO) A full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and e-books. Covering news, politics, science, sports, and more, it also includes thousands of full-text primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press. (High school/pre-college)

(EBSCO) Offers the highest quality collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, videos and other sources covering virtually every subject area. Helping patrons find relevant content has never been easier. (High school/pre-college).

(GALE) Gale OneFile: News is a full-text newspaper resource providing access to major U.S. regional, local, and national newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

(GALE) Gale OneFile: Popular Culture Studies provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

(GALE) Cross-search content from select Gale products, including Gale's OneFile periodicals, In Context products, and/or eBooks.

(NewsBank) Here you'll find access to newspapers from around the state of Texas, several of which include digital image editions (Austin American-Statesman, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, San Antonio Express-News and more). Coverage varies by publication.

(ProQuest) Full text from the Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, and the New York Times.