You must use library databases to write the Toulmin and Rogerian Essays.
The databases have millions of scholar and popular research sources.
-
You are required to use at least 3 scholarly sources and 1 popular source for Paper 2: Research-Based Toulmin Argument Essay.
-
You are required to use at least 5 scholarly sources and 1 popular source for Paper 3: Research-Based Rogerian Argument Essay.
-
For help understanding the difference between scholarly and popular sources, read the Scholarly vs Popular Sources page.
-
You may not use the open web (Google or another search engine) to find sources.
-
Scroll down for links and tips for recommended databases for argument essays.
-
Remember that if you ever need help using a databases, librarians are available to answer your questions and walk you through searching.
Use this link to get to all of the LSC-CyFair Library Research Databases:
- CyFair Library DatabasesThis page organizes all of our databases. Try some of the most popular at the top of the page, or scroll down and open a menu to explore databases in that subject area.
This video describes how to find and log into the databases from the Lone Star College homepage:
Recommended Databases for Argument Assignments
Academic Search Complete is our biggest, most comprehensive database. It's a great place to start looking for more detailed information about your topic, after you've already found some background information.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) A scholarly multi-disciplinary database that provides full text, indexing, and abstracts, videos and images from journals, magazines and newspapers. Full text of articles from 6500+ journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
You'll find scholarly and popular sources in Academic Search Complete.
You can use the Source Type menu to limit your search results to either type (see video 5 in our ASC playlist for help) or look at the icons next to each search result.
- Scholarly sources will have an Academic Journal icon:
- Popular sources will have either a Periodicals icon (for magazines or trade publications) or a News icon (for newspaper articles):
- You may also see some results with a Review icon. Reviews may come from scholarly or popular publications, but they're not the most helpful research sources (they typically review new books on a topic - librarians use them to buy books for the library). Try not to use sources with the Review icon:
Before you search Academic Search Complete, take a look at our YouTube playlist on using the database. It breaks down most aspects of the database, from how to type in your search terms to limiting searches to scholarly sources to using auto-generated MLA citations.
Other recommended databases:
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. Content includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account to download to your device. Visit EBSCO's instructions on how to read on a mobile device using Adobe Digital Editions.
Need help searching and reading books in eBook Collection? Try our YouTube help video. It's focused on finding career information, but you can apply our tips to searching for any topic:
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included. Read on your mobile device using Adobe Digital Editions.
Need help searching and reading books in Ebook Central? Try our YouTube help video. It's focused on finding career information, but you can apply our tips to searching for any topic:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(Ithaka Harbors) Includes full-text back issues of selected peer-reviewed journals in such areas as history, statistics, sociology, literature, and economics.
