Databases & Websites for DCUSH Research
Historical research sources can be found in a variety of places. Your history textbook is a great place to start - just to get a general understanding of the historical event you plan to research. Once you determine a topic, you will need to take a look at the library's research databases as well as some reputable websites to find information to fill in any gaps in knowledge that you have. Try to find a variety of primary and secondary sources to show that you have thoroughly researched the topic and developed a deep understanding of the historical event.
History Research Databases
ARTICLES
- American History This link opens in a new window
(Infobase) Provides topic pages and overviews for historical events, daily life in different eras, historical controversies, and multimedia supplements as well as primary sources. Covers the colonial/revolutionary period and forward.
- U.S. History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to researchers. Updated daily, this resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Slavery in America and the World; History, Culture, and Law This link opens in a new window
(HeinOnline) Legal materials (court cases, trials, statutes, etc.) with books, sermons, slave narratives, speeches, periodicals, pamphlets from the 18th-20th centuries.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(Ithaka Harbors) Includes full-text back issues of selected peer-reviewed journals in such areas as history, statistics, sociology, literature, and economics.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
(Johns Hopkins University Press) Full-text articles from "over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals."
- Proquest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Over 30 million digital pages of seventeen American newspapers dating back to the 18th century.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
(Credo) Includes materials from over 650 full-text reference books on a variety of topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
VIDEOS
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
(Alexander Street Press) Full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
(Films Media Group) High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Browse a selection of Business & Economics videos.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
(Kanopy) Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection. App available from Apple, Google, and Roku.
Websites
These websites provide free access to a variety of primary sources that have been digitally archived online.
Off-Campus Library Database Access
For off-campus access to the library databases, you will need to sign in with your MyLoneStar email address and password or enter your 14-digit library barcode from the back of your LSC student ID card.
Don't have a 14-digit library barcode? Request one online. Your library barcode will be emailed to your LSC email address within 48 hours.
Boolean Searching
Use BOOLEAN SEARCHING to improve your search results in the research databases. Using the boolean operators AND, OR, & NOT will make you a more successful researcher.
