Databases & Websites for Literary Research
Literary research requires knowing how to analyze a work of literature. Use the following reference sources for information on analyzing literature.
- A New Handbook of Literary Terms by David Mikics
- Critical Literary Lenses (Pellissippi State Community College Libraries)
- Literary Elements (Pellissippi State Community College Libraries)
- Comparing/Contrasting Literary Works, Characters, or Authors (Pellissippi State Community College Libraries)
- The Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales - The Open Access Companion to the Canterbury Tales (OACCT) is a volume of introductory chapters for first-time, university-level readers of Geoffrey Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales. The chapters have been created and edited by professional scholars of Chaucer, and all material is released open access and free of charge for classroom, scholarly, and personal use.
Research Databases
ARTICLES
- Academic Search Complete: Full-text articles from 6,500+ journal and magazine titles.
- Bloom's Literature: Essays and criticism examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history.
- Credo Reference: Full-text reference books on a variety of topics including history, anthropology, geography, culture, population, and related disciplines.
- Gale eBooks: Full-text of many literary reference works such as Poetry for Students, Novels for Students, and World Literature and Its Times.
- Gale Literature: Biographies, summaries, and criticism of literary works and authors.
- Gale Literature Criticism - Short Story Criticism: Presents full-text literary criticism on the works of short-story writers of all nations, cultures, and time periods.
- Gale Literature Resource Center: Full-text journal articles, critical essays, work overviews and summaries, and author biographies from authoritative sources.
- JSTOR: Includes full-text back issues of selected peer-reviewed journals in such areas as history, statistics, sociology, literature, and economics.
- Project MUSE: Full-text journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
BRITISH HISTORY & CULTURE
- A Brief History of Great Britain: Provides history of Britain from ancient times to present.
- English History: People, Places and Events That Built a Country: Guide to key events, people and places in English history from prehistoric England, Stonehenge and the Romans to modern times.
RESEARCH DATABASES BY SUBJECT
All research databases, organized by subject/topic
Off-Campus Library Database Access
For off-campus access to the library databases, you will need to sign in with your MyLoneStar email address and password or enter your 14-digit library barcode from the back of your LSC student ID card.
Don't have a 14-digit library barcode? Request one online. Your library barcode will be emailed to your LSC email address within 48 hours.
