Searching the Databases
The research databases usually open in the Basic Search screen. This search screen gives you one box to type in your search terms.
Most databases have an option for Advanced Search. This search options allows you to type your search terms into separate boxes with the Boolean operator "AND" between each box.
It is recommended that you use Advanced Search for all of your research when using the library databases.
Basic Search Examples
You must manually enter any boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT).
EXAMPLE #1
mermaids legend
The database searches for articles with the words/phrase "mermaids legend" or "legends mermaid" - it's searching for both words next to each other.
EXAMPLE #2
mermaids AND legend
The database searches for articles that have both words, "mermaids" AND "legends" - anywhere in the article
Advanced Search Examples
The database automatically provides the boolean operators (AND is the default).
EXAMPLE #3
mermaids legends
AND
AND
The database searches for articles with the keywords/phrase "mermaids legends" or "legends mermaids" - it's searching for both words next to each other.
EXAMPLE #4
mermaids
AND
legends
AND
media
The database searches for articles that have all the keywords, "mermaids" AND "legends" AND "media" - anywhere in the article.
EXAMPLE #5
mermaids or mermen or sirens
AND
legends or myths or mythology or folklore
AND
media or books or literature
This search combining the boolean operators AND and OR will search for articles that contain any of the words from the first box AND any of the words from the second box AND any of the words from the third box.
