LSC-CyFair Library Guides: GOVTH 2305 Jinu Abraham: Your Assignment

Assignment Description

The paper will examine what America can learn from the rest of the world in terms of public policy in four areas: maternity leave, incarceration, test scores in high school, seeking alternative sources of energy, or the rise of NEETs (No Education/Employment/Training) . The research paper will be broken up into multiple pieces as students will help each formulate topics, select countries to compare with the United States, and the final editing stages of the assignment.

LSC Federal Government Writing

LSC Federal Government Writing

Writing and Proof Reading Resources

Lone Star CyFair Writing Center
Through Lone Star, you can have your paper checked for grammatical errors, spelling, get advice about writing style and thesis construction for free.
Grammarly

Types of Sources You May Want to Use

Database Articles
Government Websites
Books
Journal Articles
Educational Films
Interviews
News Articles

Recommended Resources

CIA World Factbook - Country Comparisons
Updated statistical data and general information about many countries.

Click on 'Guide to Country Comparisons' to view ranked lists of countries on indicators like Maternal Mortality Ratio, Infant Mortality Rate, Education Expenditures, and Energy production and consumption.
Countries of the World
Country overviews.
United Nations Human Development Reports
UN Overview of Human Development Statistics in different countries.

Topic: Maternity Leave Policies

CIA World Factbook
Updated statistical data and general information about many countries. PEOPLE and SOCIETY section of country profiles provide information about health and demographic data.
United Nations Human Development Reports
Search this database of humanitarian statistics by country including demographics in the GENDER section, maternity leave information in the WORK, EMPLOYMENT, and VULNERABILITY section and relevant data in the HEALTH section.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
International labor statistics

Topic: Alternative Energy

Green Fiscal Policy Network
Country profiles for sustainability. The Green Fiscal Policy Network is a joint partnership facilitating knowledge sharing and dialogue on fiscal policies for an inclusive green economy.
CIA World Factbook
Updated statistical data and general information about many countries. ENERGY section of country profiles provide facts and information about energy consumption for various energy sources.
United Nations Human Development Reports
Search this database of humanitarian statistics by country including energy use in the ENVIRONMENTAL SUSTAINABILITY section.

Topic: Test Scores

CIA World Factbook
Updated statistical data and general information about many countries. PEOPLE and SOCIETY section of country profiles provide information about educational expenditures.
Programme for International Student Assessment
The Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) is a triennial international survey which aims to evaluate education systems worldwide by testing the skills and knowledge of 15-year-old students.

In 2015 over half a million students, representing 28 million 15-year-olds in 72 countries and economies, took the internationally agreed two-hour test.
Human Development Reports
UN database of humanitarian statistics by country including relevant data in the EDUCATION section.
Pew Research Center
Test score comparisons.

Topic: Incarceration & Recidivism

Human Development Reports
UN database of humanitarian statistics by country including prison populations in the HUMAN SECURITY section.
World Prison Brief
The World Prison Brief is an online database providing free access to information on prison systems around the world. It is a unique resource, which supports evidence-based development of prison policy and practice globally.
World Prison Populations - BBC
Prison populations around the world.

Topic: NEETs (No Education/Employment/Training)

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is a unit of the United States Department of Labor. It is the principal fact-finding agency for the U.S. government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics and serves as a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System
Organization of Economic cooperation and Development--United States
The OECD provides data, policy advice and research on the United States including economy, education, employment, environment, health, tax, trade, GDP, unemployment rate, etc.
OECD--International Data
Contains data pertaining to NEETs internationally.

GOVTH 2305 Jinu Abraham

EXPLORE