Skip to Main Content

EDUC 1300: Career Research

This guide has information about using websites and library sources to research your career for EDUC 1300.
Need journals or magazines articles? Use the library's online databases to find articles. 
What is a database?

The library databases are online collections of millions of sources that usually are not available for free on the open web, including:

  • Academic journal articles (also called 'scholarly' or 'peer-reviewed' journals)

  • Trade publication articles (also called 'trade journals' or 'professional journals' or 'career journals')

  • Magazine articles

  • Newspaper articles

  • Electronic books and book chapters

  • Images and streaming films

How do I find the databases?

You must use the library's webpage to access our databases:

You can use the databases wherever you have Internet access. Log in to library databases with your library barcode number or MyLoneStar email address and password. For help logging into a database, contact a librarian

Which databases should I use to research a career?

Try some of the databases listed below - they are the most popular databases for career research. If you need help searching the library databases, contact a librarian.

Scroll down to watch our videos about searching the EBSCO databases for articles about careers. 

Search Multiple EBSCO Databases for Career Research

Choosing EBSCO Sources for Career Research

Searching and Limiting Results in EBSCO for Career Research