eMedia

(OverDrive) Download and/or stream eBooks, audiobooks, digital magazines, and video. Mobile app, Libby, available for Android and iOS. OverDrive app available for Kindle Fire users. Visit OverDrive Help for more device information or contact the library.

(Alexander Street Press) Full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports.

(Films Media Group) High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Browse a selection of Business & Economics videos.

(Kanopy) Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection. App available from Apple, Google, and Roku.

(OverDrive) Download and/or stream eBooks, audiobooks, digital magazines, and video. Mobile app, Libby, available for Android and iOS. OverDrive app available for Kindle Fire users. Visit OverDrive Help for more device information or contact the library.

(EBSCO) Over 100 popular magazines, including back issues, available online. TIP: When logging in on the Flipster app choose "Harris Co Public Library" rather than your local branch to make sure your library card number is recognized.

(OverDrive) Download and/or stream eBooks, audiobooks, digital magazines, and video. Mobile app, Libby, available for Android and iOS. OverDrive app available for Kindle Fire users. Visit OverDrive Help for more device information or contact the library.

(Hearst) Full-text from 1985-present of the local newspaper, including web edition stories.

(Newsbank) Here you'll find Houston Chronicle articles from 10/29/1985 to the present. Digital image edition available from 10/24/2017 to present.

To read the digital image edition click the listing on the menu with "image" as the format. Click on "All Databases" to see other available collections from Newsbank: Houston Community Weeklies, Texas Newspaper collection, America's News, Special Reports & Hot Topics from around the nation. 

What's available: Houston Chronicle, Weekly community publications, Texas Newspaper Collection, America's News

Get unlimited access to more than 7,000 of the world's top newspapers and magazines as soon as they're available on shelves. No limits on downloads. Read in your browser or via the free PressReader app. View How-To Guides and How-To Videos to get started. TIP: Click the user account icon or Login button in the upper-right of the menu, choose Library or Group, search for "Harris County," click on Harris County Public Library, enter your 14-digit library card number and 4-digit PIN option, click the two required checkboxes, click the Log In button.

Via LSC: 
(ProQuest) Provides business news and information on financial markets worldwide.  Comprehensive coverage from 1984 to present.

Via HCPL:
Access to the most recent 90 days of Wall Street Journal (WSJ) articles. Advanced search gives you access to articles from the last 4 years.

When accessing WSJ from home, create a free account which gives you a 3 day pass. After the pass expires, start again from the link on the HCPL website and log back in with the same account details you created earlier for another 3 days worth of access.

The Wall Street Journal app is not included with the library subscription, but the site is mobile responsive so it displays well on tablets and smartphones.

Freegal® Music offers access to about 15 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists, and over 40,000 music videos. Unlimited streaming and three downloads per week. 

What's available:

15 million songs
Over 40,000 music videos.
Unlimited streaming
Three downloads per week.

(GALE) Gale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.

(ProQuest) Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included. Read on your mobile device using Adobe Digital Editions.

(Teton Data Systems) Full-text electronic medical library. App also available from Apple, Google Play, and Amazon.

(Alexander Street Press) Full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports.

(Films Media Group) High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Browse a selection of Business & Economics videos.

(Kanopy) Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection. App available from Apple, Google, and Roku.

(Alexander Street Press) Videos created by Medcom-Trainex specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. Login to create a playlist to share or embed videos or static links to videos in online courses.