Library Databases
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
LSC-CyFair Users
Full-text digital pages of seventeen American newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Video tutorial coming soon!
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law
LSC-CyFair Users
Legal materials (court cases, trials, statutes, etc.) with books, sermons, slave narratives, speeches, periodicals, pamphlets from the 18th-20th centuries. View a brief overview and search tutorial of this database in the video below.
Websites with Primary Sources
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) search engine provides access to millions of texts, images, audio files, video files, and other resources digitized by libraries, archives, museums, and other organizations in the United States. The DPLA is a rich resource of historical primary source material and a great place to start your research.
-
19th Century American Literary, Historical, and Cultural Studies
-
American Founders Online: An Annotated Guide to Their Papers and Publications
-
American Journeys: Eyewitness accounts of Early American exploration and settlement
- American Yawp
Chapters include links to primary sources
-
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
-
International Association for the Preservation of Spiritualist and Occult Periodicals
- Presidential Elections, 1789 to 1920: Resource Guides
The Library of Congress has made resource guides that highlight sources for the Presidential Elections, 1789-1920.
- Shappell.org: This Day In History
Includes letters, posters, photos, artifacts, etc. Particularly strong in 19th century U.S. resources.
- Songs of America (Library of Congress)
A database of sheet music, audio files, etc. of popular songs.
- Umbra Search
Search engine for archival resources about African American history
Popular Digital Collections
- NYPL Digital CollectionsThe New York Public Library Digital Collections features digitized primary and secondary source materials from the NYPL archives and manuscript division. New materials are added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
- Alice Paul InstituteFind an oral history recording and transcript featuring Suffragist Alice Paul.
