Journal Articles
Looking for articles, especially scholarly articles? Try searching the databases below for your topic. No single resource will have all the articles on your topic so be sure to try more than one.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Major full-text database in Nursing and Allied Health, with over 560 journals, and more than 600,000 articles dating back to 1937.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
- Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
(US Government) Full-text information on health topics and drugs from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
- Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
(NCBI) National Center for Biotechnology Information located within the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health. Comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Database Search Tips
Use these search examples as a guide for what to type into a database search box:
- radiology AND prenatal care
- neonatal radiography
- diagnostic imaging AND contrast-to-noise ratio
Once you get a list of results, you may want to limit your findings.
- Scholarly & Peer-Review
- Publication Date
- Humans
If you are having trouble finding what you need, book a research consultation.
Get Articles from Other Libraries
If LSC-CyFair Library does not have a full-text article that you need, we can see if another library is able to provide it through our interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Just fill out the ILL form as completely as possible. Articles are typically e-mailed directly to you.
Keep in mind...
- Cost: FREE in most cases. If there is a charge we will contact you before making the request.
- Allow 5-10 business days for processing and delivery.
Off-Campus Access
To access databases from off campus, you can use either the 14-digit library barcode number located on the back of your student ID card or your Lone Star College username and password, the same username and password you use to log in to D2L.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to search for journal articles. If an article is not full-text, ask a librarian to help you determine if the article is available through a LSC-CyFair Library database or through interlibrary loan.
- How to Connect Google Scholar to LSC-CyFair Library with Library LinksBy setting up Library Links, you can access research articles licensed by LSC-CyFair Library while using Google Scholar.
