Library Resources for ENGL 1301- Spring 2023
Popular Research Databases
RESEARCH DATABASES BY SUBJECT
All research databases, organized by subject/topic
MOST POPULAR DATABASES:
- Academic Search Complete: Full-text articles from 6,500+ journal and magazine titles.
- Credo Reference: Full-text reference books on a variety of topics including history, anthropology, geography, culture, population, and related disciplines.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints: Full text on controversial issues from magazines, journals, statistical sources, and news publications.
- JSTOR: Full-text journal back files generally from at least three years ago and back in time.
- Gale Literature Resource Center: Full-text literary criticism, biographical information, overviews, and reviews on more than 150,000 writers in all disciplines, time periods, and regions of the world.
- Newspaper Source: Full text from national and international newspapers plus news transcripts.
- Project MUSE: Full-text journals in a variety of academic disciplines.
- US Major Dailies: Full-text news from the Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.
Library Catalog
Discovery Search Catalog
Articles, Books, Audio, Movies, Music and More
Original catalog: http://hcpl2.ent.sirsi.net/client/en_US/lsc
NOTE: To request items from the library catalog, you must have a 14-digit library card number & 4-digit PIN associated with one of the following credentials:
- Lone Star College–CyFair Student ID/Library Card
- Harris County Public Library Card
Searching the Library Catalog
It is not necessary to include prepositions in titles. Example:
| Title | Search Words |
|---|---|
| The Lord of the Rings | lord rings tolkien |
| The Lord of the Rings | lord of the rings |
Try using variations of a word. Example:
| Topic or Keyword(s) | Search Words |
|---|---|
| pediatric nursing |
nurse nursing pediatric children |
Searching the catalog is not like searching the internet. Use the tips below:
- Check your spelling
- Try variations of the same word
- Try different words that mean the same thing
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
- Interlibrary LoanILL is a service provided by the library. This allows us to have access to materials from other libraries outside of our system.
CMOS
Librarian
Library Hours
Mon-- 8AM-8PM
Tues-- 8AM-8PM
Wed-- 8AM-8PM
Thurs-- 8AM-8PM
Fri-- 8AM-5PM
Sat-- 10AM-5PM
Sun-- 11AM-4PM
Visit Us
Harris County Public Library
Lone Star College-CyFair Branch
9191 Barker Cypress Road
Cypress, TX 77433
Contact Us
Call
281.290.3210
- Option 1: Hours & Address
- Option 2: Circulation
- Option 3: Kids Corner
- Option 4: Adult Services
- Option 5: Student/Faculty Services
Text
832.463.0478
Email
CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu
Chat Online:
cflib.info/chat
One-to-One Consultation
Schedule a video/phone meeting with a Librarian.
