Skip to main content

APA 7 Style Guide

Everything you need to know to create a paper using APA style.

Journal Articles

A few general rules about creating journal article citations in APA style:

  • Always include author, year of publication, article title, journal title and publishing date (volume, issue & page numbers)
  • If no author exists for a piece, unless it is specifically signed Anonymous, do not use anonymous as the author. Simply move the title of the journal article to the place of the author.
  • Always give both volume number and issue number.
  • When citing an electronic journal article, a DOI is preferable to a URL. Provide the DOI as a url, https://doi.org/xxxx
  • After a DOI or URL in a citation, there is no ending punctuation.
  • You may use a URL shortener like tinyurl or bit.ly if you wish.

Author(s)(date). Title of article. Name of Journal, vol(issue)page range. DOI or URL


Blagrove, M. G. (2006). Probabilistic reasoning, affirmative bias and belief in precognitive dreams. Applied Cognitive Psychology, 20(1),65-83. https://doi.org/10.1002/acp.1165

DOI = Digital Object Identifier

DOI = Digital Object Identifier

Use a DOI (if assigned to the article) when citing articles, whether accessed in the print or electronic form.

A DOI is a digital object identifier – a unique alphanumeric code that gives a persistent link to the web location for an electronic item, sort of like an ISBN. DOIs are commonly seen on current electronic journal articles, but are often also included in the print version of the article. You're more likely to see them on articles for the sciences than the humanities.

A Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is preferable to a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) when citing an online resource.

 

How do I find the DOI for an article?

  • A DOI is identified as such on the first page of an article near the copyright notice, and it starts with  "https://doi.org/" or "http://dx.doi.org" or "DOI:" and is following by string of letters and numbers.  e, g, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.anireprosci.2006.12.005
  • Use https://search.crossref.org to search for DOI.
  • DOIs are often included in database records.  You can often spot it from just the search results page, as well.
  • DOIs may also be found in the bibliography of an article as authors are now using DOIs as a citation tool. If you find a DOI in a bibliography and want to find the actual article (or at least further citation information), you need to use a DOI resolver (see http://dx.doi.org/).

Journal Article with DOI Found in an Academic Database or on the Web

Include a DOI for all journal articles that have a DOI, regardless of whether you used the online version or the print version. [APA 9.34]


Aguilar, C. M., Morocco, C. C., Parker, C. E., & Zigmond, N. (2006). Middletown High School: Equal opportunity for academic achievement. Learning Disabilities Research & Practice, 21(3), 159-171. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1540-5826.2006.00215

Bollingmo, G. C., Wessel, E. O., Eilertsen, D. E., & Magnussen, S. (2008). Credibility of the emotional witness: A study of ratings by police investigators. Psychology, Crime & Law, 14(1), 29-40. https://doi.org/10.1080/10683160701368412

Constanigro, M., McCluskey, J. J., & Mittelhammer, R.C. (2007). Segmenting the wine market based on price: Hedonic regression when different prices mean different products. Journal of Agricultural Economics, 58(3), 454-466. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1477-9552.2007.00118

Journal Article without DOI Found in an Academic Database

If you used an academic research database to find an article, and the work does not have a DOI, then treat the work as a print work without a DOI. Do not include session-specific URLs from academic research databases in your papers. [APA 7 Blog]

Deitz, S. R., & Sissman, P. L. (1984). Investigating jury bias in a child molestation case. Behavioral Sciences & the Law, 2(4), 423-434. 

De Muro, P., & Gabrysch, L. (2007). A survey of new developments in tax-exemption law: What compliance officers need to know. Journal of Health Care Compliance, 9(6), 15-61. 

Dybvik, A. C. (2004). Autism and the inclusion mandate: What happens when children with severe disabilities like autism are taught in regular classrooms? Daniel knows. Education Next, 4(1), 42-49. 

Journal Article without DOI from Proprietary/Limited-Circulation Database or the Web

If you used a database with proprietary or limited-circulation content, meaning readers need to go to that database in particular to find the work, then provide a link to the content directly if possible. [APA 7 Blog] If the URL requires a login or is session specific, meaning it will not resolve for readers, provide the URL of the database or archive home page or login page instead of the URL for the work. [APA 9.34]


Van Der Merwe, D. (2019). Exploring the relationship between ICT use, mental health symptoms and well-being of the historically disadvantaged open distance learning student: A case study. Turkish Online Journal of Distance Learning, 20(1), 35-52. https://eric.ed.gov/?id=EJ1201958

Journal Articles with 21+ Authors

A special note about authors: If the article you are citing includes 20 or more authors, include the first nineteen authors, insert an ellipses (...), and then include the last author listed. 

Example:

Wiskunde, B., Arslan, M., Fischer, P., Nowak, L., Van den Berg, O., Coetzee, L., Juárez, U., Riyaziyyat, E., Wang, C., Zhang, I., Li, P., Yang, R., Kumar, B., Xu, A., Martinez, R., McIntosh, V., Ibáñez, L. M., Mäkinen, G., Virtanen, E., . . . Kovács, A. (2019). Indie pop rocks mathematics: Twenty One Pilots, Nicolas Bourbaki, and the empty set. Journal of Improbable Mathematics27(1), 1935–1968. https://doi.org/10.0000/3mp7y-537

Magazine Article

Farelly, E. (2008, March/April). Fear of not having had. Orion. http://www.orionmagazine.org

Markman, A. (2008, November 19). Does reading fiction really improve your social ability? Psychology Today. Sussex Publishers. https://www.psychologytoday.com/ca/blog/ulterior-motives/201811/does-reading-fiction-really-improve-your-social-ability

Online Articles with Personal Authors

In APA 7th edition, articles published in online news sources (e.g., BBC News, Bloomberg, CNN, HuffPost, MSNBC, Reuters, Salon, Vox) will have the title of the article italicized but not the name of the source. Sources that have both an online and print presence (e.g., The Washington Post or New York Times), will italicize the name of the source but not the title of the article.

 

Available Online Only

Beaven, Brad. (2020, January 20). The modern phenomenon of the weekend. BBC News. https://www.bbc.com/worklife/article/20200117-the-modern-phenomenon-of-the-weekend

Bologna, C. (2018, June 27). What happens to your mind and body when you feel homesick?HuffPost. https://www.huffpost.com/entry/what-happens-mind-body-homesick_n_5b201ebde4b09d7a3d77eee1

Available both Web and Print

Herrera, Tim. (2020, January 19). What to do with a day off. The New York Timeshttps://www.nytimes.com/2020/01/19/smarter-living/what-to-do-with-a-day-off.html 

McGonigal, Kelly. (2020, January 21). Here's how exercise reduces anxiety and makes you feel more connected. The Washington Posthttps://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/2020/01/21/heres-how-exercise-reduces-anxiety-makes-you-feel-more-connected/

Technical and Research Reports

Technical and research reports are cited much like books, except for the inclusion of the report number, which may take a variety of forms. 

Group Author

  • A group author is an organization or institution that takes credit/responsibility for information instead of a single person.
  • If the group author is the same as the publisher, omit the publisher element to avoid repetition.
  • If multiple layers of an organization are identified, use only the agency most directly responsible for the work as the author. The other layers may appear as publisher information later in the citation.

Australian Government Productivity Commission & New Zealand Productivity Commission. (2012). Strengthening trans-Tasman economic relationshttps://www.pc.gov.au/inquiries/completed/australia-new-zealand/report/trans-tasman.pdf

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. (2009). Inventory of U.S. greenhouse gas emissions and sinks: 1990-2007 (EPA 430-R-09-004). https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2015-12/documents/ghg2007entire_report-508.pdf  

 

Personal Author

James, D. J. & Glaze, L. E. (2006). Mental health problems of prison and jail inmates (NJC 213600). U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, Bureau of Justice Statistics. http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/pub/pdf/mhppji.pd

Same Author, Same Year, 2 Articles

If you have more than one article by the same creator and from the same year (or all with no known year, n.d.), you'll add letters after the year to distinguish the sources.

Koriat, A. (2008a). Easy comes, easy goes? The link between learning and remembering and its exploitation in metacognition. Memory & Cognition, 36, 416–428. https://doi.org/10.3758/MC.36.2.416

Koriat, A. (2008b). Subjective confidence in one’s answers: The consensuality principle. Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition, 34, 945–959. https://doi.org/10.1037/0278-7393.34.4.945


In the text, citations would be styled as follows: (Koriat, 2008a) and (Koriat, 2008b).

Works with no date will look like (n.d.-a), (n.d.-b), and so on (note the hyphen).

  The LSC-CyFair Library building is closed until further notice.

  Online References Services are available while we're closed.

hcpl lsc logos

Harris County Public Library

Lone Star College-CyFair Branch

9191 Barker Cypress Road

Cypress, TX 77433

281.290.3214 - Reference Desk, 1st floor

281.290.3219 - Reference Desk, 2nd floor

CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu

LoneStar.edu/library/cyfair.htm