LSC-CyFair Library Guides: Music Research and Resources: Bibliographies, Dissertations, and Indexes

Bibliographies and Indexes- Open Access

Aria Database
The Aria Database provides basic information and translations on operas and operatic arias. Sound samples are provided of arias and basic information on available scores and full audio files for purchase.
Art Song Central
An index of Leider and Art Songs, searchable by title, composer, time period.

CUNY Academic Works
Use keyword searches like "music performance" or "vocal pedagogy" in this open access database of theses and dissertations from the City University of New York.
DDM: Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Maintained by the American Musicological Society (AMS), DDM is a searchable database of over 16,000 international bibliographic records of dissertations in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
This database is a resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Use keywords like "music performance" or "music theory" to search. Use the filters on the results page to select "Open Access" documents.
University of North Texas (UNT) Theses and Dissertations
This database provides open access to thousands of theses and dissertations written by UNT graduate and Ph.D. students. Access may be restricted to the UNT community on some documents.

Digital Public Library of America - free web
(DPLA) Over 44 million images, texts, videos, and sound file—s from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia - free web
(Library of Congress) A guide to the performing arts collections (both print and digital) and exhibitions at the Library of Congress. Includes digitized items from the collections and topical compositions such as Civil War Sheet Music and American Choral music.

Aria Database - free web
The Aria Database provides basic information and translations on operas and operatic arias. Sound samples are provided of arias and basic information on available scores and full audio files for purchase.
Art Song Central - free web
An index of Leider and Art Songs, searchable by title, composer, time period.
Freegal Music - free web
(Freegal® Music) Offers access to about 15 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists, and over 40,000 music videos. Unlimited streaming and three downloads per week.
RISM International Inventory of Musical Sources - free web
(Répertoire International des Sources Musicales) The International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) aims to comprehensively document the world’s musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. The online-catalogue offered here contains around 700,000 references almost exclusively to music manuscripts.