Library Resources for Honors Students- Fall 2023
Rose Botkin's office hours are 10-12 on Tuesdays and 12 PM -2 PM on Wednesdays in LRNC 143, or can be made by appointment.
Research Databases for Science
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) A scholarly multi-disciplinary database that provides full text, indexing, and abstracts, videos and images from journals, magazines and newspapers. Full text of articles from 6500+ journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
- Science Online This link opens in a new window
(AAAS) This full-text, weekly multidisciplinary scientific journal publishes original peer-reviewed research and noteworthy science news (1997 to the present).
- Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Gale In Context: Science is an engaging resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Drawing students in with captivating subject matter, Science showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather.
Integrating millions of full-text articles that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content, Science is updated daily and offers over 600 pages on topics across the curriculum, covering biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more. - Public Library of Science (PLoS) This link opens in a new window
(Public Library of Science) PLoS features "peer-reviewed, open access scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles."
- SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Full-text from an international collection of scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
Library Catalog: Books, Videos, Etc.
Search the Library Catalog
Books, Audio, Movies, Music and More
NOTE: To request items from the library catalog, you must have a 14-digit library card number & 4-digit PIN associated with one of the following credentials:
- Lone Star College–CyFair Student ID/Library Card
- Harris County Public Library Card
Tips for Searching the Library Catalog
Searching the catalog is not like searching the internet. Use the tips below
It is not necessary to include prepositions in titles. Example:
| Title | Search Words |
|---|---|
| The Lord of the Rings | lord rings |
Try using variations of a word. Example:
| Topic or Keyword(s) | Search Words |
|---|---|
| teaching |
teach teacher teachers teaching |
Check your spelling.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
- Interlibrary LoanILL is a service provided by the library. This allows us to have access to materials from other libraries outside of our system.
