Skip to main content

Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) Citation Help

View examples, get interactive practice, and format your paper with Chicago Style citation!

Scholarly Articles from an Online Database

Full Note:

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): page #, Name of Database OR URL of journal article web page.

Concise Note:

2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range of article. Name of Database OR URL of journal article web page.

Example 1

Footnote (Full Note):

1.  Valerie Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democratization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience," World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 168, Project MUSE.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2.  Bunce, "Rethinking Recent Democratization," 172.

Bibliography:

Bunce, Valerie. "Rethinking Recent Democratization: Lessons from the Postcommunist Experience." World Politics 55, no. 2 (2003): 167-192. Project MUSE.


Example 2

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Kenneth Aitchison, "After the Gold Rush: Global Archeology in 2009," World Archeology 41, no. 4 (2009): 670, https://doi.org/10.1080/00438240903363772.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2.  Aitchison. "After the Gold Rush," 661.

Bibliography:

Aitchison, Kenneth. "After the Gold Rush: Global Archeology in 2009." World Archeology 41, no. 4 (2009): 659-671. https://doi.org/10.1080/00438240903363772.


Example 3

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Bernard Testa and Lamont B. Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems," Entropy 2, no. 1 (2000): 17, http://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2.  Testa and Kier, "Emergence and Dissolvence," 17.

Bibliography:

Testa, Bernard, and Lamont B. Kier. "Emergence and Dissolvence in the Self-Organisation of Complex Systems." Entropy 2, no. 1 (2000): 1-25. http://www.mdpi.org/entropy/papers/e2010001.pdf.

Website Articles

Websites can often be limited to notes. If not using notes, a bibliographic entry may be included, cited by the owner or sponsor of the site.


Full Note:

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Title of Page," Title or Owner of Site, date last modified or accessed, URL.

Concise Note:

2. Author Surname, "Title of Page."

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name or Initials. "Title of Page." Title or Owner of Site. Date last modified or accessed. URL.

Example 1 (with access date)

Full Note:

1. K. A. Johnson and J. A. Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas," Harvard University Medical School, accessed April 29, 2011, http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/. 
 
Concise Note:

2. Johnson and Becker, "The Whole Brain Atlas."

Bibliography:

Johnson, K. A., and J. A. Becker. "The Whole Brain Atlas." Harvard University Medical School. Accessed April 29, 2011.  http://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/. 


Example 2 (with publication date)

Full Note:

1. Alan Henry, "Why We Get Brain Freezes," Lifehacker, June 11, 2016, http://lifehacker.com/why-we-get-brain-freezes-1781798710.
 
Concise Note:

2. Henry, "Brain Freezes."

Bibliography:

Henry, Alan. "Why We Get Brain Freezes." Lifehacker. June 11, 2016. http://lifehacker.com/why-we-get-brain-freezes-1781798710.

Full Note:

1. "Apps for Office Sample Pack," Office Dev Center, Microsoft Coporation, updated October 20, 2015, https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/office/Apps-for-Office-code-d04762b7.

Concise Note:

2.  "Apps for Office."

Bibliography:

Microsoft Corporation. "Apps for Office Sample Pack." Office Dev Center. Updated October 20, 2015. https://code.msdn.microsoft.com/office/Apps-for-Office-code-d04762b7.


Full Note:

1. "Diabetes Myths," American Diabetes Association, last modified July 5, 2017, http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/myths.

Concise Note:

2.  "Diabetes Myths."

Bibliography:

American Diabetes Association. "Diabetes Myths." Last modified July 5, 2017. http://www.diabetes.org/diabetes-basics/myths.

Magazine Articles

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Magazine Title, Month Day, Year, page # OR URL/location.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Author Surname, "Article Title," page #.

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Magazine Title, Month Day, Year. URL/location.

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Joseph Boyden, "The Lessons Not Learned from the Gulf Coast Oil Spill: It's been a Year Since the BP Disaster, and Nobody has Learned Anything," Macleans, May 2, 2011, http://www2.macleans.ca/2011/05/02/spilling-over/.  

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Boyden, "The Lessons Not Learned."

Bibliography:

Joseph Boyden. "The Lessons Not Learned from the Gulf Coast Oil Spill: It's been a Year Since the BP Disaster, and Nobody has Learned Anything." Macleans, May 2, 2011. http://www2.macleans.ca/2011/05/02/spilling-over.

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Carol Ezzell, "Care for a Dying Continent," Scientific American, May 2000, 32. 

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Ezzell, "Care for a Dying Continent," 32.

Bibliography:

Ezzell, Carol. "Care for a Dying Continent." Scientific American, May 2000.

Newspaper Articles

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Author First Name/Initial Surname, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year, URL.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Author Surname, "Article Title."

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Month Day, Year. URL.

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Alessandra Stanley, “‘Mad Men’ Strains to Stay as Button-Down as Ever,” New York Times, August 13, 2009, nytimes.com.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Stanley, "'Mad Men.'"

Bibliography:

Stanley, Alessandra. “‘Mad Men’ Strains to Stay as Button-Down as Ever.” New York Times, August 13, 2009. nytimes.com.

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Laurie Goodstein and William Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage," New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1. 

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Goodstein and Glaberson, "The Well-Marked Roads."

Bibliography:

Goodstein, Laurie, and William Glaberson. "The Well-Marked Roads to Homicidal Rage." New York Times, April 10, 2000, national edition, sec. 1.

Encyclopedia or Dictionary Entries

For encyclopedia articles, dictionary entries, and other reference works, follow this template. Only include an access date and url if you used an on online source.

"s.v." stands for "sub verbo," meaning "under the word."


Footnote (Full Note):

1. Title of Work, edition, s.v. "Article/Entry Title," accessed date, url.

 

Bibliography:

These types of sources are only cited in the notes.

1. Oxford English Dictionary, s.v. "preparation."

2. Stedman's Medical Dictionary, 27th ed.,  s.v. "measles."

3. Oxford Online, s.v. "Garcia, Jerry," accessed July 13, 2010, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.

Interviews (Written)

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Interviewee First Name Surname, "Title of Interview Article," interview by Interviewer Name, Publication Title, issue# (date): page#, url/database.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Interviewee Surname, "Short Title," interview, page#.

Bibliography:

Interviewee Surname, First Name. "Title of Interview Article." By Interviewer Name. Publication Title, issue# (date): page range. url/database.

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Lydia Davis, "The Art of Fiction No. 227," interview by Andrea Aguilar and Johanne Fronth-Nygren, Paris Review, no. 212 (Spring 2015): 172, EBSCOhost.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Davis, "Art of Fiction," interview,  173.

Bibliography:

Davis, Lydia. "The Art of Fiction No. 227." By Andrea Aguilar and Johanne Fronth-Nygren. Paris Review, no. 212 (Spring 2015): 170-178. EBSCOhost.

Footnote (Full Note):

1. Raymond Bellour, "Alternation, Segmentation, Hypnosis: Interview with Raymond Bellour," interview by Janet Bergstrom, Camera Obscura, nos. 3-4 (Summer 1979): 90.

Footnote (Concise Note):

2. Bellour, "Alternation," interview,  91.

Bibliography:

Bellour, Raymond. "Alternation, Segmentation, Hypnosis: Interview with Raymond Bellour." By Janet Bergstrom. Camera Obscura, nos. 3-4 (Summer 1979): 89-94.

  The LSC-CyFair Library building is closed until further notice.

  Online References Services are available while we're closed.

hcpl lsc logos

Harris County Public Library

Lone Star College-CyFair Branch

9191 Barker Cypress Road

Cypress, TX 77433

281.290.3214 - Reference Desk, 1st floor

281.290.3219 - Reference Desk, 2nd floor

CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu

LoneStar.edu/library/cyfair.htm