Dual Credit Students

This video introduces students to what a database is, how it is different from Google, how to brainstorm keywords to use for searching the research databases, and how to do a Boolean search.

This video describes how to find the LSC-CyFair Library Research Databases page and how to log in with your library barcode or MyLoneStar login.

The Credo Reference database is a great resource for finding background information on a variety of topics. This video playlist covers the following topics:

• How to search the Credo Reference database and what you'll find on a topic page.
• How to use the Save and Citation features in Credo Reference to email, download, or cite an article.
• How to copy an MLA citation from the Credo Reference database, paste it into your Works Cited list, and correct any formatting or citation errors.

When you pick your topic, it's not set in stone. Picking and adjusting your topic is an integral part of the research process.

This video covers how to use concept mapping or mind mapping to help you refine a research topic.

Academic Search Complete is a database containing articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. The content in Academic Search Complete covers a variety of subject areas, so it's a great starting point for research.
This video playlist covers the following topics:

• What a database is and how to find the Academic Search Complete database from the Lone Star College homepage.
• How to search more than one EBSCO database at the same time to broaden your searches. 
• How to brainstorm keywords about your topic to most effectively find relevant results in the database.
• The difference between a Basic Search and an Advanced Search in the Academic Search Complete database.
• How to use the search result limiters in Academic Search Complete to limit by full text, scholarly sources, publication date, source type, subject, and language.
• How to start evaluating your search results to make sure they’re relevant by reading titles, subject terms, and abstracts.
• The difference between the PDF and HTML article formats, which one you should use if you have a choice, and how to use the Full Text Finder option.
• How to use most of the options in the Tools menu, including email and automatic citation.
• How to copy an MLA citation for a journal article in an EBSCO database and paste it in Word, making sure it stays in MLA format.