Open Educational Resources (OER)

(BCcampus) The B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms. The collection includes reviewed courses and textbooks with new resources being added all the time.

(California State University Long Beach) The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community. All materials in MERLOT are reviewed for suitability and retention in the collection. Many undergo the more extensive "peer review" for which MERLOT is famous.

(THECB) Explore hubs, groups, and collections of open educational resources. Create OER. Collaborate with Texas educators. Powered by OER Commons and ISKME.

(Rice University) Publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print. Also, OpenStax has developed a low-cost, research-based courseware (including LMS integration, test banks, answer guides, and PowerPoint slides) that gives students the tools they need to complete their course the first time around, along with OpenStax Tutor.

(Open Education Network) Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Now offering over 1,100 open textbooks, the Open Textbook Library is supported by the Open Education Network, based in the Center for Open Education in the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development.

(National Science Foundation) The American Institute of Mathematics (AIM) seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses. The list is organized by courses ranging from pre-calculus to upper division analysis and algebra. Each book has a brief description of its important features and information about how to get it.

(Barnes & Noble Education) BNC OER+ provides students with immediate access to course content (complete with e-text, videos, activities, and assessments) delivered via LMS. BNC OER+ lowers the cost of learning materials (and has an available print companion). Every course starts with high-quality Open Educational Resources (OER), such as OpenStax, and includes a variety of supporting instructional materials and tools.

(Coursera) Coursera partners with more than 275 leading universities and companies to bring flexible, affordable, job-relevant online learning to individuals and organizations worldwide. We offer a range of learning opportunities—from hands-on projects and courses to job-ready certificates and degree programs.

(DOAB) A discovery service for peer-reviewed open access books and book publishers that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed books.

(edX) Access 2,000 free online courses from 140 leading institutions worldwide. Gain new skills and earn a certificate of completion.

GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together OER throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials. This repository is administrated by Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of GALILEO and the University System of Georgia which aims to reduce the cost of textbooks to students and contribute to their retention, progression, and graduation.

H5P is a versatile, open-source tool that allows educators to create, share, and reuse interactive content, such as quizzes and videos, enhancing the learning experience. It supports Creative Commons licenses, ensuring proper attribution and easy modification of materials. H5P integrates seamlessly with platforms like D2L, making it accessible and easy to embed. This flexibility and ease of use make H5P an excellent resource for creating and disseminating OER.

(IntechOpen) The world's leading publisher of Open Access books - Built by scientists, for scientists provides a collaborative environment for peer-reviewed scientific content and book publishing of academic research.

(LibreTexts) Libraries include Biology, Business, Chemistry, Engineering, Geosciences, Humanities, K12 Education, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Social Sciences, Spanish, Statistics, and Workforce. The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.

(Lumen Learning) Lumen Learning is an education technology company that creates low-cost open courseware designed to improve student success using open educational resources.

(Milne Library Publishing) Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

(Massachusetts Institute of Technology) MIT OpenCourseWare is an online publication of materials from over 2,500 MIT courses, freely sharing knowledge with learners and educators around the world.

(MyOpenMath) MyOpenMath is designed for mathematics, providing delivery of homework, quizzes, and tests. It is sponsored by Lumen Learning and XYZ Homework.

(ISKME) OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

(Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges) The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students. OCL courses and materials have undergone testing for accessibility and have been designed using the industry-standard Quality Matters (QM) rubric for assessing the quality of online courses.

(Carnegie Mellon University) This open courseware service offers courses that you can enroll in, "peek at," or adopt for your own use in online teaching. Some require small fees, but most are free.

(Open Oregon Educational Resources) Houses course materials that Oregon community college and university instructors are using to reduce textbook costs in their courses. Open Oregon Educational Resources programs and services are available at no cost to Oregon’s public higher education institutions. This program is funded by the Community College and Workforce Development Office of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission and the Oregon State Legislature.

(XanEdu) The mission of Open RN is to lower the cost of nursing textbooks through creation of five free OER textbooks for foundational nursing courses. FlexEd digital courseware is available for each released title and enhances the content through a comprehensive suite of integrated tools, resources, and supplemental content. Open RN books are written with student comprehension at the forefront and are aligned to NCLEX testing requirements.

(Yale University) Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University. The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn.

(Portland State University) PDXOpen is a collection of open access textbooks and open educational resources (OER) created by Portland State University faculty.

(University of Colorado Boulder) PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based simulations for physics, chemistry, math, earth science, and biology. We extensively test and evaluate each simulation to ensure educational effectiveness. These tests include student interviews and observation of simulation use in classrooms. The simulations are written in HTML5 (with some legacy simulations in Java or Flash), and can be run online or downloaded to your computer. All simulations are open source.

(Pressbooks) Pressbooks is an online publishing platform that support OER textbook creation. Many books shared in other repositories are hosted online in Pressbooks, but Pressbooks has their own directory you can search to find OER using the License filter.

(Project Gutenberg) Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free EPUB and Kindle eBooks, download them, or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works in the public domain.

(Constitution Foundation) Open courseware includes topics such as: General Education, Art History, Computer Science, English Literature, and more! The foundation lays out a course of study for each subject that includes multiple classes at various levels.

(US Dept of Labor, TAACCCT) The world’s largest open library of workforce training materials. Developed in partnership with local industries, reviewed by subject matter experts, and focused on skills businesses need today.

(Wikimedia) Wikibooks is a project for collaboratively writing open-content textbooks. Contributors maintain the property rights to their contributions, while the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike License and the GNU Free Documentation License makes sure that the submitted version and its derivative works will always remain freely distributable and reproducible. Great resource to explore open pedagogy!

(George Mason University) The OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.

(Maryland Open Source Textbook Initiative) Online space designed to support faculty and staff in discovering materials, collaborating with colleagues, and contributing OER to improve curricula.

(SUNY Geneseo) Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from over 100 different sources and contains over 440,000 records.

This course connects you with high-quality OER by subject & format and also includes a step-by-step guide for creating OER.

- BIOL 2401
- EDUC 1300
- ENGL 1301
- ENGL 1302
- GOVT 2305
- GOVT 2306
- HIST 1301
- MATH 1314
- PHED 1164
- PSYC 2301