The databases and websites below cover cultural, social, political, geographical, demographic, and economic data on multiple countries and regions.
-
U.S. State Department Bilateral Relations Fact SheetsBilateral Relations Fact Sheets (formerly known as Background Notes) include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. These fact sheets are updated/revised by the Office of Electronic Information and Publications of the Bureau of Public Affairs as they are received from the U.S. State Department's regional bureaus.
-
CIA World FactbookProvides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
-
BBC News Country ProfilesGuide to history, politics and economic background of countries; included are basic statistics, profiles of governmental leaders, and other relevant data. They also include audio and video clips from the BBC archive.
- ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/content/about/
These databases and free web sources are your best bet for World Literature topics and resources. Here you will find literature criticism, scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).
- Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
(Infobase/Facts on File) Essays and criticism examining the lives of great authors and their works throughout history.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Gale eBooks offers broad cross-curricular collection of non-fiction titles, supporting science, geography, history, language arts, business and other subjects. Optimized for search and discovery, the Gale eBooks platform enables you to search through multiple nonfiction eBooks within a single search.
- Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Criticisms, synopses, and reviews of authors and their works, full-text poems, short stories, and classic novels, as well as full text from over 400 literary journals.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Full-text journal articles, critical essays, work overviews & summaries, and author biographies from authoritative sources. Note: for Biographies, use the Person Search and filter results to Biographies.
- (CLC Web) Comparative Literature & Cultural StudiesCLCWeb: Comparative Literature and Culture (1999-), the peer-reviewed, full-text, and open-access journal, publishes new scholarship in theory and criticism, comparative literature, and cultural studies.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
- (WDL) World Digital LibraryPrimary resources from multiple countries. Indexed by the Library of Congress (LOC) with support of the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
- (DOAJ) Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
- Zeroland (World Arts and Culture)World arts and culture online’ Zeroland: a guide to the arts online; a systematic, comprehensive and curated guide to trustworthy, informative and inspiring arts-related webpages from around the world.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryFounded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
These databases are your best bet for World History topics and resources. Here you will find scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).
- Slavery in America and the World; History, Culture, and Law This link opens in a new window
(HeinOnline) Legal materials (court cases, trials, statutes, etc.) with books, sermons, slave narratives, speeches, periodicals, pamphlets from the 18th-20th centuries.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Selected full-text from 30 US national and international newspapers and 200 regional papers, plus TV & radio news transcripts.
These databases are your best bet for Geography topics and resources. Here you will find atlases and maps, scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
(Credo) Includes materials from over 650 full-text reference books on a variety of topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
- CIA World FactbookUpdated statistical data and general information about many countries. PEOPLE and SOCIETY section of country profiles provide information about health and demographic data.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionThe collection focuses on rare 16th through 21st century maps of North and South America, as well as maps of the World, Asia, Africa, Europe, and Oceania. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Items range in date from about 1550 to the present.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map CollectionThe PCL Map Collection includes more than 250,000 maps, yet less than 20% of the collection is currently online.
- GeoData (UT Libraries)Access thousands of downloadable geospatial datasets from UT Austin and other universities. Click the "Scanned Maps" button to access georeferenced maps from the PCL Map Collection that are ready for use in GIS software.
These databases are your best bet for World Religions topics and resources. Here you will find scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Includes over 300 full-text journals on such topics as world religions, biblical studies, and many aspects of philosophy.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(Ithaka Harbors) Includes full-text back issues of selected peer-reviewed journals in such areas as history, statistics, sociology, literature, and economics.
- (DOAJ) Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
These databases are your best bet for International Business & Accounting topics and resources. Here you will find government websites, statistical databases, scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Current business information, from scholarly full-text journals and dissertations, to company, industry, and market-focused trade news, with some historical coverage back to 1900. Downloadable data includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline.
- World Bank DataThis site is designed to make World Bank data easy to find, download, and use. All of the data found here can be used free of charge with minimal restrictions.
- globalEDGE Business BeatFunded in part by the U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant, globalEDGE is an Open Access resource that functions as a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople. Connect with over 47,000 people using the gE Network while tapping into a directory of over 5000 quality resources. globalEDGE provides tools and resources to efficiently research nearly any international business question you may have.
All IS Areas of Study
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) A scholarly multi-disciplinary database that provides full text, indexing, and abstracts, videos and images from journals, magazines and newspapers. Full text of articles from 6500+ journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
(Ithaka Harbors) Includes full-text back issues of selected peer-reviewed journals in such areas as history, statistics, sociology, literature, and economics.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
(Johns Hopkins University Press) Full-text articles from "over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals."
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
(Credo) Includes materials from over 650 full-text reference books on a variety of topics in higher education, including art, business, history, languages, literature, science, criminal justice, and political science.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Search complete electronic books. Set up a free account to download to your device. Visit EBSCO's instructions on how to read on a mobile device using Adobe Digital Editions.
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Over 100,000 ebook titles covering a full range of academic topics. General reference works are also included. Read on your mobile device using Adobe Digital Editions.
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryFounded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
Streaming Video
These streaming video databases offer educational documentaries on many global topics. See the library's citation guides for help citing these databases and their content in your research assignments.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
(Films Media Group) High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Browse a selection of Business & Economics videos.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
(Kanopy) Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection. App available from Apple, Google, and Roku.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
(Alexander Street Press) Full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports.
On the Web
- Comparative Literature & Cultural StudiesCLCWeb: Comparative Literature and Culture (1999-), the peer-reviewed, full-text, and open-access journal, publishes new scholarship in theory and criticism, comparative literature, and cultural studies.
- (DOAJ) Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
- Zeroland (World Arts and Culture)World arts and culture online’ Zeroland: a guide to the arts online; a systematic, comprehensive and curated guide to trustworthy, informative and inspiring arts-related webpages from around the world.
- Project GutenbergProject Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
- (WDL) World Digital LibraryPrimary resources from multiple countries. Indexed by the Library of Congress (LOC) with support of the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
