Library Catalog: Books, Videos, Etc.
Search the Library Catalog
Books, Audio, Movies, Music and More
NOTE: To request items from the library catalog, you must have a 14-digit library card number & 4-digit PIN associated with one of the following credentials:
- Lone Star College–CyFair Student ID/Library Card
- Harris County Public Library Card
Tips for Searching the Library Catalog
A few things to remember:
- Don't include A, And, or The at the beginning of a title.
- Try using variations of a word: teacher, teaches, teaching.
- Check your spelling.
EBOOKS
eBooks
- EBSCO eBook Collection
LSC-CyFair Users | HCPL Users
Search complete eBooks on a variety of topics. Set up a free account and download to your device or computer. - Ebook Central
LSC-CyFair Users | HCPL Users
Search, view, and/or download complete eBook titles covering a full range of academic topics. - eHCPL
LSC-CyFair and HCPL Users
Download and/or view digital materials (such as books, audio, music, magazines, and video).
Select Reference Books
Our physical reference collection contains books on countries, cultures, and geography. These books are typically for in-library use only. The collection is located near the first floor library Reference Desk and the TEEN room.
Lone Star College–CyFair Branch Library:
NOTE: Titles below are in the College & Careers Reference Collection
- REF 306.03 Cou - Countries and Their Cultures
See also: World History Atlases in REF 911.
Select E-books
International Business by
Traditionally, international business (IB) texts survey the field from a USA perspective, going on to compare the USA to the rest of the business world. This text addresses IB from a purely multinational perspective. International Business is examined from the USA angle, going on to address IB issues from other countries¿ perspectives, what we call the ¿Reverse Perspective.¿ The authors interview business executives and politicians from a number of countries including the USA, Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, India, Hong Kong, Taiwan, China, Japan, South Korea, Germany, Italy, and Russia. These interviews are incorporated at appropriate points in the text providing first-hand information and practical insight. Cases include: Air Arabia, Gap, Diebold Inc, Matsushita, AMSUPP, NIKE, China Eastern Airlines, Luton & Dunstable Hospital, Harley Davidson, Cassis de Dijon, Green investments in Belize, Chicago Food and Beverage Company, Advanced Software Analytics
ISBN: 9780750679831Publication Date: 2011-07-27
Iranian and Diasporic Literature in the 21st Century by
The most populous Islamic country in the Middle East, Iran is rife with contradictions, in many ways caught between the culture and governments of the Western--more dominant and arguably imperalist--world and the ideology of conservative fundamentalist Islam. This book explores the present-day writings of authors who explore these oppositional forces, often finding a middle course between the often brutal and demonizing rhetoric from both sides. To combat how the West has falsely generalized and stereotyped Iran, and how Iran has falsely generalized and stereotyped the West, Iranian and diasporic writers deconstruct Western caricatures of Iran and Iranian caricatures of the West. In so doing, they provide especially valuable insights into life in Iran today and into life in the West for diasporic Iranians.
ISBN: 9780786472727Publication Date: 2012-12-18
Remaking the Modern World, 1900-2015 by
The sequel and companion volume to C.A. Baylys ground-breaking The Birth of the Modern World, 1780-1914, this wide-ranging and sophisticated study explores global history since the First World War, offering a coherent, comparative overview of developments in politics, economics, and society at large. Written by one of the leading historians of his generation, an early intellectual leader in the study of World History Weaves a clear narrative history that explores the themes of politics, economics, social, cultural, and intellectual life throughout the long twentieth century Identifies the themes of state, capital, and communication as key drivers of change on a global scale in the last century, and explores the impact of those ideas Interrogates whether warfare was really the pre-eminent driving force of twentieth-century history, and what other ideas shaped the course of history in this period Explores the causes behind the resurgence of local conflict, rather than global-scale conflict, in the years since the turn of the millennium Delves into the narrative of inequality, a story that has shaped and been shaped by the events of the last hundred years
ISBN: 9781405187152Publication Date: 2018-10-22
Feminism and World Religions by
Addressing religion and feminism on a global scale, this unprecedented book contains a nuanced and fine-tuned treatment of seven of the world's religions from a feminist perspective by leading women scholars. Feminism and World Religions contains chapters on Hinduism by Vasudha Narayanan, Buddhism by Rita M. Gross, Confucianism by Terry Woo, Taoism by Karen McLaughlin and Eva Wong, Judaism by Ellen M. Umansky, Christianity by Rosemary Radford Ruether, and Islam by Riffat Hassan, along with a general introduction and a postscript by Katherine K. Young and a preface by Arvind Sharma. The fact that these authors share a dual but undivided commitment both to themselves as women and to their traditions as adherents imparts to their voices a prophetic quality, and if Mahatma Gandhi is to be believed, even scriptural value.
ISBN: 9780791440230Publication Date: 1998-12-23
Video & Streaming Content
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
(Kanopy) Classic cinema, independent films, and top documentaries in streaming video. Includes Media Education Foundation Collection. App available from Apple, Google, and Roku.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
(Films Media Group) High-quality, educational streaming video from companies such as Films for the Humanities, BBC, and PBS. Browse a selection of Business & Economics videos.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
(Alexander Street Press) Full-length videos on various topics, documentaries, instructional materials and limited historical news reports.
