Journal Articles
Looking for articles, especially scholarly articles? Try searching the databases below for your topic. No single resource will have all the articles on your topic so be sure to try more than one.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Major full-text database in Nursing and Allied Health, with over 560 journals, and more than 600,000 articles dating back to 1937.
- Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
(GALE) Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine contains up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
- Medline Plus This link opens in a new window
(US Government) Full-text information on health topics and drugs from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
See a complete list of all medical databases available through the Lone Star College Library System.
Basic Search Tips in CINAHL
Search Tips & Examples
Break your research question down into the main concepts and connect the terms using AND, or OR.
- (adolescent OR "young adult") AND depression AND "vitamin D"
- sex workers AND HIV AND interventions
- adults AND ("heart attack" OR "myocardial infarction") AND aspirin
Change the words to focus your search if needed.
Check the publication date of each source you find. Try to use resources published within the past 5 years.
Contact a librarian to get help searching!
See a complete list of all LSC - CyFair Library YouTube videos on searching databases for nursing literature.
Get Articles from Other Libraries
If LSC CyFair Library does not have a full-text article that you need, we can see if another library is able to provide it through our interlibrary loan (ILL) service. Just fill out the ILL form as completely as possible. Articles are typically e-mailed directly to you.
Keep in mind...
- Cost: FREE in most cases. If there is a charge we will contact you before making the request.
- Allow 5-10 business days for processing and delivery.
Your Librarian
PubMed
Search PubMed for Articles
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
How to Search PubMed
- PubMed for NursesShort videos that demonstrate how to search PubMed.
