Skip to main content

International Studies/Global Studies Research Guide

This guide is designed to help you start your International Studies/Global Studies research.

The databases and websites below cover cultural, social, political, geographical, demographic, and economic data on multiple countries and regions. 

These databases and free web sources are your best bet for World Literature topics and resources. Here you will find literature criticism, scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).

These databases are your best bet for World History topics and resources. Here you will find scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).

These databases are your best bet for Geography topics and resources. Here you will find atlases and maps, scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).

These databases are your best bet for World Religions topics and resources. Here you will find scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).

These databases are your best bet for International Business & Accounting topics and resources. Here you will find government websites, statistical databases, scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, Open Access journals, popular magazines and periodicals, primary sources, and streaming video databases. Use the Advance Search option in each database to refine your search. Contact a librarian for help searching any of the databases listed below (see Home page for contact information).

All IS Areas of Study

Streaming Video

These streaming video databases offer educational documentaries on many global topics. See the library's citation guides for help citing these databases and their content in your research assignments.

On the Web

  The LSC-CyFair Library building is closed until further notice.

  Online References Services are available while we're closed.

hcpl lsc logos

Harris County Public Library

Lone Star College-CyFair Branch

9191 Barker Cypress Road

Cypress, TX 77433

281.290.3214 - Reference Desk, 1st floor

281.290.3219 - Reference Desk, 2nd floor

CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu

LoneStar.edu/library/cyfair.htm