YouTube videos created by LSC-CyFair librarians for help using the Academic Search Complete database.
ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE PLAYLIST
- Academic Search Complete Video PlaylistOur YouTube playlist for the Academic Search Complete database, broken into quick videos covering different aspects of using the database.
VIDEO 2: USING THE CHOOSE DATABASES FEATURE (1:04)
- Using the Choose Databases feature (view online)Academic Search Complete is a database from a company called EBSCO, and you can search more than one EBSCO database at the same time to broaden your searches. This video describes how to do that.
VIDEO 4: BASIC SEARCH VS ADVANCED SEARCH (1:19)
- Basic Search vs Advanced Search (view online)This video describes the difference between a Basic Search and an Advanced Search in the Academic Search Complete database. Make sure you’re typing your search terms in correctly in order to get search results!
VIDEO 6: EVALUATE YOUR SEARCH RESULTS (1:59)
- Evaluate your search results (view online)Not every article in your search results will be relevant to your research topic. This video describes how to start evaluating your search results to make sure they’re relevant by reading titles, subject terms, and abstracts.
VIDEO 8: WORKING WITH THE TOOLS MENU (3:01)
- Working with the Tools menu (view online)EBSCO databases have great user features. This video describes how to use most of the options in the Tools menu, including email and automatic citation.
VIDEO 1: WHAT IS ASC? HOW DO YOU LOG IN? (1:42)
- What is Academic Search Complete? How do you log into it? (view online)This video gives a quick introduction to the kinds of research sources you’ll find in the Academic Search Complete database. It also shows how to find and log in to Academic Search Complete from the Lone Star College website.
VIDEO 3: SEARCHING WITH KEYWORDS (1:38)
- Searching with keywords (view online)Academic Search Complete doesn’t work like Google. You need to be deliberate about how you type in search terms. This video describes how to brainstorm keywords about your topic to most effectively find relevant results in the database.
VIDEO 5: LIMIT YOUR SEARCH RESULTS (2:39)
- Limit your search results (view online)This video describes how to use the search result limiters to limit by full text, scholarly sources, publication date, source type, subject, and language.
VIDEO 7: PDF VS HTML FULL TEXT (1:51)
- PDF vs HTML Full Text (view online)You’ll see results in Academic Search Complete in two different formats: PDF and HTML. This video explains the difference between the formats, which one you should use if you have a choice, and how to use the Full Text Finder option.
VIDEO 9: CITE A JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM EBSCO IN MLA (2:24)
- Cite a Journal Article from EBSCO Databases in MLAThis video walks you through copying, pasting, and correcting an MLA citation for a journal article in an EBSCO database like Academic Search Complete.
Visit Us
Harris County Public Library
Lone Star College-CyFair Branch
9191 Barker Cypress Road
Cypress, TX 77433
Contact Us
Call
281.290.3210
- Option 1: Hours & Address
- Option 2: Circulation
- Option 3: Kids Corner
- Option 4: Adult Services
- Option 5: Student/Faculty Services
Text
832.463.0478
Email
CyFairLibrary@LoneStar.edu
Chat Online:
cflib.info/chat
One-to-One Consultation
Schedule a video/phone meeting with a Librarian.
