In order to impart knowledge and understanding of the origins, vision, and goals of the institution, Lone Star College–CyFair Archives collects, preserves, and makes accessible significant historical materials that relate to the history of Lone Star College–CyFair.
Scope of Collection
This archive is a subset of the greater local history collection which records the history of the Cypress-Fairbanks community. Both the archive and the local history collection are housed on the premises of the Harris County Public Library - Lone Star College–CyFair Branch. The archives collects official records and personal papers of enduring historical, legal, administrative, and fiscal value. This includes memorabilia, seminal documents, photographs, architectural records, letters, reports, unpublished manuscripts, posters, brochures, photographs, and audio or videotapes.
Acquisition
The committee seeks help from present and former faculty, staff, and students. It also seeks help at the highest administrative levels to acquire these valuable and sometimes elusive materials. The library reserves the right to catalog, discard, locate, and display gifts in the best interests of the collection.
Arrangement and Conservation
This collection will be in an acid-free environment with climate control in the library to preserve the lifespan of the materials. It will be systematically arranged and catalogued to allow easy access to faculty, students, historians and researchers.
If you have questions about the college archives or you would like to make a submission to the college archives, please email Regina.E.Vitolo@Lonestar.edu.
COMING SOON: Accession forms (submission forms), digitized manuscripts and photographs, digital exhibitions.
Documents
- Cy-Fair College TimelineThis is a list of headlines from the Houston Chronicle archive from Nov. 1995 - 2003.
- Campus Tour June 2003This is a snap shot of what the college looked like two months before opening.
- Campus Tour June 2010This is a snap shot of what the college looked like seven years after opening.
- Joint Library BeginningsThis is an article written in 2005 by two of the founding librarians of the Lone Star College-CyFair Branch Library about their experiences in the beginning.
- Ten-Year Anniversary Brochure 2013Partial to include library partnership
- LSC-CyFair Vision and Learning SignatureRewritten from original 2003 document
Memorabilia
Sample Photographs
Picture by Amy 
Huddleston
Sample Posters/Flyers
